I just don’t know what to do with myself, or “look at me I’m using a song title to relate to a current situation”

Having finished Great Expectations, I’d love to post some kind of an analysis here – which would be pointless seeing as I haven’t carried out any secondary reading on it as of yet. Though, some of its key themes and literary devices could be dealt with in a superficial way. (Estella = representing Pip’s desire to join the upper classes? Like, wow guys, totally unclear to me!)

But what I want to talk about now is something slightly controversial to some people, classified as normal to others, and classified as just plain weird to everyone else. At this time of year, college students finish up their tutorials and lectures and prepare for their exams. They retreat into the library, where they consult articles, books and journals in a frantic attempt to become read enough in time for scary impending deadlines (or, in the case of the lackadaisical, who just go on Facebook, check out the talent who only come in there twice a year, and who think coming in at midday will definitely guarantee them a seat with added plugholes) and those pesky examinations.

That was my life last year. I spent so much time in the library reading and researching that I began to wonder would they ever consider providing me with a spare bed for the night. It’s a lifestyle that brings an odd sense of comfort. This year I’ve been on my BA Connect year, studying theatre in an applied sense – that is, actually partaking in intensive rehearsals that led to a professional production at the end. For me, it was an invaluable experience, and possibly the best experience I’ve ever had working on a play, but I have to be honest: my heart lies in academia. And so I have been feeling an odd envy towards those who are finishing up their dissertations and essays, to those who are consulting journals to use them in exam situations, and to those who are just studying.

So study week began, and I was finished for the year. Is it so wrong to miss the books that much? I imagine that I could feel a lot more differently about this come next year. Plus, to be honest, I’m not ungrateful for the opportunity to enjoy the summery weather while it’s still here. We shall see…*

*that’s a get-out clause, right there.

2 thoughts on “I just don’t know what to do with myself, or “look at me I’m using a song title to relate to a current situation”

  1. Eoghan Fallon

    Great opening post. This is also a great way to keep your subjects exercised – namely English! Best of luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

